America: Homecoming

America: Homecoming

Audio Fidelity  AFZ5 204

Stereo/Multichannel Hybrid



America's 1972 Homecoming album includes one of their best known hits, "Ventura Highway" with it's creative acoustic guitar lines, smart vocal harmonies and spaced-out lyrics, it's a fan favorite and one of their best songs.

Homecoming was the band's second album and the trio were determined to avoid the "sophomore jinx" so when work began on the new album America pulled out all the stops to reach their goal. Their production maintains the acoustic guitar underpinning heard on the successful debut album but builds on the sound of that first record by featuring more electric guitar and keyboards.

Homecoming is a melodic album full of catchy folk ballads and great harmonies and features two other hits, "Don't Cross the River" and "Only in Your Heart." Several other songs received heavy FM radio airplay. The album is a collection of thoughtful, well-written, and skillfully sung songs..It's one of America's better albums, possibly their best for Homecoming helped continue the band's popularity, reached the Top 10 on Billboard's Pop Albums chart and was certified platinum by the RIAA.

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors:

Add to your wish list | library


18 of 18 recommend this, would you recommend it?  yes | no

1. Ventura Highway
2. To Each His Own
3. Don't Cross the River
4. Moon Song
5. Only in Your Heart
6. Till the Sun Comes Up Again
7. Cornwall Blank
8. Head and Heart
9. California Revisited
10. Saturn Nights