Harry Belafonte: Belafonte Sings The Blues

Harry Belafonte: Belafonte Sings The Blues

Analogue Productions  CAPF 1972 SA

Stereo Hybrid


Harry Belafonte

A favorite off the recommended list by The Absolute Sound magazine, and, as expressed in the liner notes, Harry Belafonte's favorite recording. Belafonte has never before sung on records as he does in this album. He is freer, more earthy, more exultantly identified with his material than ever before. He has always communicated an often ferocious power as well as lyrical sensitivity, but in this collection he achieves a unity of emotional strength in and understanding of his material that marks an important stage in his evolution as an artist.

Includes classic songs "Cotton Fields," "God Bless' The Child," "Hallelujah I Love Her So." Recorded in New York City in January and March 1958, and in Hollywood, California, in June 1958.

As the liner notes by Nat Hentoff state, there is not much to say about the individual performances that is not entirely clear on hearing them. Truly a classic for discerning audiophiles, Belafonte Sings The Blues was the first Belafonte album recorded in stereo. The sound is incredible; this is one of Belafonte's most satisfying set of performances.

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors using the paid links below.
As an Amazon Associate earns from qualifying purchases.

Add to your wish list | library


5 of 5 recommend this, would you recommend it?  yes | no

Analogue recording
1. A Fool For You
2. Losing Hand
3. One For My Baby
4. In The Evenin’ Mama
5. Hallelujah I Love Her So
6. The Way That I Feel
7. Cotton Fields
8. God Bless’ The Child
9. Mary Ann
10. Sinner’s Prayer
11. Fare Thee Well
Comments (1)

Comment by Mark Werlin - April 27, 2023 (1 of 1)

RIP Harry Belafonte (died April 25, 2023).

Some Amazon third-party sellers are attempting to sell this SACD for exorbitant prices, but as of the date of this post, it is in stock at Acoustic Sounds in the US at list price.

Audiophile music lovers in the EU have an alternative; the 24/192 remaster by Kevin Gray, produced by Impex for RCA Legacy, available at Qobuz. I recently heard this 24/192 download. The sound quality and performance are splendid.