Beethoven: Violin Sonatas, Vol 4 - Irnberger / Korstick

Beethoven: Violin Sonatas, Vol 4 - Irnberger / Korstick

Gramola  99053

Stereo/Multichannel Hybrid

Classical - Chamber

Beethoven: Violin Sonatas Op. 30 No. 1 & 2; Rondo WoO 41; 6 Deutsche Tänze, WoO 42

Thomas Albertus Irnberger, violin
Michael Korstick, piano

The fourth and final volume of the complete recordings of Ludwig van Beethoven's violin sonatas by Salzburg violinist Thomas Albertus Irnberger with Michael Korstick, piano, focuses on the sonatas Op. 30/1 and 30/2. Composed in 1802, the year when he also wrote the «Heiligenstädter Testament«, these works reflect Beethoven's emotional state: On one hand, there is a new affection, professional success and aspiration, on the other hand, above all his emerging severe hearing defect, threatening his artistic and psychological existence. Ever so different in style and characterized by heavy mood swings, the sonatas are composed in the keys of A major (No. 6, Op. 30/1) respectively C minor (No. 7, Op. 30/2). The Rondo in G major, WoO 41, and the Six German Dances, WoO 42, however, were written in 1794/96 and convey ease and almost juvenile cheerfulness - a trait also prevalent in the interpretation of Irnberger and Korstick.

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors:
Presto Classical


Add to your wish list | library


0 of 0 recommend this, would you recommend it?  yes | no