Clarke: Viola Concerto - Bradley, Bell

Clarke: Viola Concerto - Bradley, Bell

Dutton  CDLX 7329

Stereo/Multichannel Hybrid

Classical - Orchestral

Rebecca Clarke: Viola Concerto
Benjamin Dale: Romance for viola & orchestra
Richard Walthew: A Mosaic in Ten Pieces
Harry Waldo Warner: Suite in D minor

Sarah-Jane Bradley (viola)
The Hallé
Stephen Bell (conductor)

The Hallé and viola virtuoso Sarah-Jane Bradley present a programme of four tuneful and atmospheric scores by British composers of the early twentieth century. Benjamin Dale’s large-scale Romance for viola and orchestra finds him at his most lyrical, while Canadian-born composer Ruth Lomon’s orchestration of Rebecca Clarke’s Viola Sonata is splendidly authentic, emphasising the romantic sensibility latent in Clarke’s piano score. Richard Walthew orchestrated his delightful Mosaic – a succession of eleven encores originally for clarinet and piano – for the celebrated Lionel Tertis, and here Sarah-Jane Bradley revels in its lyrical charm. The Suite in D minor by composer, violist and founder member of the London String Quartet, Harry Waldo Warner, completes the programme, and Sarah-Jane Bradley and the Hallé project this substantial three-movement work with insight and panache.

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors:


Add to your wish list | library


1 of 1 recommend this, would you recommend it?  yes | no