Glanert: Requiem voor Jheronimus Bosch - Stenz

Glanert: Requiem voor Jheronimus Bosch - Stenz

RCO live  LC-14237

Stereo/Multichannel Hybrid

Classical - Vocal

Glanert: Requiem voor Jheronimus Bosch (Requiem for Hieronymus Bosch)

David Wilson-Johnson (voice)
Aga Mikolaj (soprano)
Ursula Hesse von den Steinen (mezzo)
Gerhard Siegel (tenor)
Christof Fischesser (bass)
Leo van Doeselaar (organ)
Groot Omroepkoor
Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra
Markus Stenz (conductor)

The famed painter Hieronymus Bosch portrayed medieval life brimming with symbolism, fantasy and riddles. Commemorating the 500th anniversary of the artist’s passing, the RCO commissioned Detlev Glanert to write a requiem for soloists, choir, organ and orchestra. The composition translates the demonic nature of Bosch’s paintings with textual counterparts into music. Glanert combines traditional requiem texts with excerpts from the manuscript collection Carmina Burana – each movement of the Requiem is accompanied by a poem about the seven deadly sins.

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors:


Add to your wish list | library


0 of 0 recommend this, would you recommend it?  yes | no

Comments (1)

Comment by Bruce Zeisel - June 2, 2018 (1 of 1)

I just finished reading a review of this disc (stereo layer) on music web international. I think it is worthy of a detailed review here.