Franck, Fauré, Prokofiev: Flute Sonatas - Bezaly, Ashkenazy

Franck, Fauré, Prokofiev: Flute Sonatas - Bezaly, Ashkenazy

BIS  BIS-2259

Stereo/Multichannel Hybrid

Classical - Chamber

Franck: Violin Sonata (arr. Rampal)
Fauré: Violin Sonata No. 1 (trans. Bezaly)
Prokofiev: Flute Sonata

Sharon Bezaly (flute)
Vladimir Ashkenazy (piano)

The flautist Sharon Bezaly has, over the past 20 years, released some 40 discs on BIS, recordings which have contributed to the international recognition that she enjoys. Both on disc and in concert she has done much to champion new repertoire – she has had no less than 20 concertos dedicated to her. On her new disc, however, she turns to core repertoire, although not necessarily that of her own instrument.

The two sonatas by César Franck and Gabriel Fauréwere composed with the violin in mind, and even though Prokofiev's sonata was originally intended for the flute it is often heard in the composer's own version for violin and piano. But joined by the legendary pianist and conductor Vladimir Ashkenazy, Sharon Bezaly now claims (and reclaims) the three works for her own instrument, in eloquent performances that make the best possible case for the flute.

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors using the links provided below.
As an Amazon Associate earns from qualifying purchases.


Add to your wish list | library


1 of 1 recommend this, would you recommend it?  yes | no