Farewell to Cambridge - Cleobury

Farewell to Cambridge - Cleobury

Kings College  KGS0031

Stereo/Multichannel Hybrid

Classical - Vocal

Music from Mozart, Faure, Durufle and others.

The Choir of King's College, Cambridge
King's Men
Stephen Cleobury (conductor)

At the edge of Scholar's Piece lies a granite stone carved with the first and last lines of Farewell to Cambridge, a poem written in 1928 by Xu Zhimo. Already adapted into many pop songs, this marks the poem's first mainstream classical interpretation. Alongside it are popular classics by Mozart, Fauré and Duruflé, and Stephen Cleobury's new arrangement of the 18th century folk song Mo Li Hua. The album is rounded off with the ever-popular King’s Men singing a more contemporary collection of a capella music and never before released mixes of classic carols.

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors using the links provided below.
As an Amazon Associate earns from qualifying purchases.

Add to your wish list | library


1 of 1 recommend this, would you recommend it?  yes | no

Tracks 1 & 8 recorded at 192kHz 24-bit PCM in the Chapel of King’s College, Cambridge, 28 July 2017.

Tracks 1-14 in 5.1 surround-sound with a compatible SACD player; tracks 15-19 in stereo only.

Producer, Editor: Simon Kiln

Recording Engineer: Jonathan Allen
Mixing Engineer: Jonathan Allen

Assistant Engineer: Stefano Civetta
SACD Mastering Engineer: Simon Gibson
Language Coach: Gao Zhang
1 Second Farewell to Cambridge
2 Once in Royal David’s City
3 The Holly and the Ivy
4 The Three Kings
5 Ding! Dong! Merrily on High
6 I Saw Three Ships
7 Away in a Manger
8 Jasmine Flower Song
9 Requiem in D minor, K. 626, Lacrimosa
10 Requiem in D minor, K. 626, Domine Jesu
11 Requiem in D minor, Op. 48, IV. Pie Jesu
12 Requiem in D minor, Op. 48, VII. In paradisum
13 Ubi Caritas
14 Cantique de Jean Racine
15 Swing Low, Sweet Chariot*
16 I Get Around*
17 I Want it that Way*
18 Call Me Maybe*
19 I Want You Back*

*: Stereo only