Tchaikovsky: 1812 Overture - Kunzel

Tchaikovsky: 1812 Overture - Kunzel

Telarc  SACD-60541

Stereo/Multichannel Hybrid

Classical - Orchestral

Tchaikovsky: 1812 Overture, Orchestral Works

Cincinnati Pops Orchestra
Kiev Symphony Orchestra
Erich Kunzel (conductor)

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors using the links provided below.
As an Amazon Associate earns from qualifying purchases.

Add to your wish list | library


18 of 30 recommend this, would you recommend it?  yes | no

DSD recording

Recorded in Music Hall, Cincinnati, Ohio, September 13, 1999; and Masonic Auditorium, Cleveland, Ohio, September 22, 1998

Recording Equipment:
- Microphones: Schoeps CMC 6/MK-25, MK-21; Neumann KU-100; Sennheiser MKH-20, MKH-30. MKH-50
- On-Stage Microphone Preamplifiers: Millennia Media HV-3 and Quad Console: Ramsa WR-S824B, custom engineered by John Windt
- Interconnecting Cables: Music Interface Technologies Proline with Balanced Terminators and MH-750 CVT Shotgun Terminators; Monster Cable Series 1 and 3 Prolink
- Digital Recording System: Sony Direct Stream Digital with ADC and DAC, custom engineered by Ed Meitner, EMM Labs
- Power Amplifiers: Threshold SA-12e and SA-4e Stasis Pure Class A, Bryston 4B NPB
- Monitor Speakers: Custom surround system by Waveform, Inc.
- Control Room and On-Stage Acoustic Treatment: RPG Diffusors and BAD Panels
- Digital Editors: Sonoma, Pyramix, SADiE 2496, Sonic Solutions
- DSD to PCM Encoding (for CD layer): Sony Super Bit Mapping Direct

Recording producer: Robert Woods

Recording engineers: Jack Renner, Michael Bishop

Sound Effects Production and Mixing: Michael Bishop

Recording Assistants: Robert Friedrich, Mark Robertson-Tessi, James Yates

Production Assistant: John Morris Russell

Editors: Thomas C. Moore, Mattijs Ruijter, Mark Robertson-Tessi

SACD Mastering at Telarc by Paul Blakemore and Thomas C. Moore

SACD Authoring at Philips by Petra Smits

Production Supervisor: Erica Brenner
1. 1812 Overture, Op. 49
2. Polonaise from Eugene Onegin, Op. 24
3. Capriccio Italien, Op. 45
4. Marche Slave, Op. 31
5. Waltz from Eugene Onegin, Op. 24
6. Festival Coronation March
7. Cossack Dance from Mazeppa
Comments (1)

Comment by Waveform - October 9, 2016 (1 of 1)

This SACD enables a thrilling test for your system. The cannon shots at the end of "1812 Overture" were recorded in very low level. Therefore their short and powerful voices bursts out of one's speakers creating an exciting atmosphere of battlefield. Watch out your head! ;)
Musically it was a disappointment. But if you want to hear a cinematic "1812" with modern DSD sound this album is for you, then.