Coronation of King George II - King's Consort/Robert King

Coronation of King George II - King's Consort/Robert King

Hyperion  SACDA67286 (2 discs)

Stereo/Multichannel Hybrid


The Coronation of King George II, 1727 - Handel's Coronation Anthems and ceremonial music by Purcell, Blow, Tallis, Gibbons, Farmer and Child, trumpet fanfares, drum processions, shouts of acclamation and pealing bells.

The Choir of the King's Consort
The King's Consort
Robert King (director)

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors using the links provided below.
As an Amazon Associate earns from qualifying purchases.


Add to your wish list | library


13 of 14 recommend this, would you recommend it?  yes | no

DSD recording

Recording Engineer: Philip Hobbs

Recorded in St. Jude-on-the-Hill, Hampstead Garden Suburb, London, February 3-7 2001
Disc 1:

1. Tolling bell of Westminster Abbey
2. Trumpet fanfare
3. Drum procession
4. Vivat
5. Trumpet fanfare
6. O Lord, grant the King a long life, William Child
7. A Grand Instrumental Procession, Handel
8. I was glad when they said unto me, Purcell
9. God save King George
10. Trumpet fanfare
11. Let thy hand be strengthened, Handel
12. O God, the Father of Heaven, Tallis
13. Come Holy Ghost, John Farmer
14. Zadok the Priest, Handel

Disc 2:

1. Trumpet fanfare
2. Behold, O God, our defender, John Blow
3. Trumpet fanfare
4. God save the King
5. The King shall rejoice, Handel
6. Te Deum (from The Second Service), Orlando Gibbons
7. Trumpet fanfare
8. God spake sometime in visions, John Blow
9. Drums
10. Trumpet fanfare
11. God save King George
12. My heart is inditing, Handel
13. Trumpet fanfare
14. March, Handel
15. Trumpet fanfare
16. Drum procession
17. The bells of London

Total time: 100:47
Reviews (1)

Review by John Broggio - April 5, 2006

This set was one of Hyperion's first attempts at SACD and very successful it is too. This is one of the areas in which Hyperion does very well - cleverly themed discs with excellent performers. In this case, Robert King and his ensembles "recreate" the Coronation of King George II.

Opening with the tolling of the Westminster bell (actually Christchurch Priory, Dorset due to traffic noise - who says we shouldn't pedestrianise centres of towns?!?), the vivid recording captures a trumpet fanfare and (slightly stilted) cries of "Vivat" either side of a very well done procession of drums that actually do move past the listener in MCH! Fantastic stuff. A shorter trumpet fanfare now introduces William Childs "O Lord, grant the King a long life", tenderly sung by the Choir of the King's Consort. The King's Consort then deliver "A [very] Grand Instrumental Procession" by Handel with their customary panache and expertise.

The remainder of the compositions are played, sung and directed in the expert way that I come to expect from this pioneering group of ensembles and their founder/director, Robert King. It is particularly welcome to have a good "Zadok the Priest" (it was at this event, that it was first used, and has been ever since...) as a classical favourite of many which is actually well played and recorded. As noted in the very detailed and illuminating notes from Robert King, the recording is designed to give us what should have happened (a few pieces were omitted by mistake!) during the service. As such, this may be of more interest to UK listeners than other territories but it I would urge everyone to investigate as it is incredible how many pieces on this disc have come to be "standards" due to this (and other) coronations - to be able to listen in high quality MCH sound is a real bonus.

For those who come across the packaging of the discs, do not fear - the back of the set is being unduly modest; it was recorded in MCH even though it does not say so. The sound is very good throughout and a real benefit comes from listening in MCH with the processionals actually processing.

Recommended to all including ardent republicans!


Copyright © 2006 John Broggio and


Sonics (Stereo):

Sonics (Multichannel):

stars stars stars