Mozart: Cassations - Kuijken

Mozart: Cassations - Kuijken

Accent  ACC 24187

Stereo/Multichannel Hybrid


Mozart: Cassations K. 63 & K. 99, Divertimento K. 205

La Petite Bande
Sigiswald Kuijken

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors using the links provided below.
As an Amazon Associate earns from qualifying purchases.


Add to your wish list | library


4 of 4 recommend this, would you recommend it?  yes | no

Reviews (1)

Review by John Broggio - September 22, 2007

This is early Mozart but by no means worthy of passing over without a good listen.

For one, the scoring of these works is unusual - no cellos in any piece and in the Divertimento only a string trio accompanies the woodwind; this leads to far darker sounds than one would normally associate with this period of Mozart's life and provides a vivid contrast to the more generally light-hearted Cassations.

The Cassations are early Serenades in all but name and often allow Sigiswald Kuijken the opportunity to remind us that he as adept at playing as he is at baton wielding. Whilst the music doesn't quite have the magnificence or depth of later works, there are premonitions such as the striking slow movement to KV 99 (in G minor and foreshadowing the great symphonies in a most uncanny manner).

Throughout the music making is joyous and a delight to the ear; I must admit to being a little concerned to see a total of (up to) 4 violins for this disc but there is no thinness of tone, thanks in part to the very good but sympathetic acoustic of the Doopsgezinde Kerk Haarlem and the near perfect engineering that Accent provide the musicians.

Very enjoyable to gauge a great composers development in performances that few juvenile outpourings ever receive.

Copyright © 2007 John Broggio and


Sonics (Multichannel):

stars stars