Bruckner: Symphony No. 4 - Bosch

Bruckner: Symphony No. 4 - Bosch

Coviello Classics  COV 30814

Stereo/Multichannel Hybrid

Classical - Orchestral

Bruckner: Symphony No. 4 "Romantic" (1874 version)

Sinfonieorchester Aachen
Marcus Bosch (conductor)

"Since, from a spiritual perspective, the current world situation is weakness, I seek refuge in trength and write powerful music." Anton Bruckner said this while working on his Fourth Symphony, which he himself titled "Romantic." The key musical symbol of this escape into the counterworld of music, which Bruckner saw as romantic, is the horn, the instrument which represents yearning for nature and faraway places and plays a central role as solo instrument in the Fourth Symphony.

Marcus Bosch and the Aachen Symphony Orchestra continue their extremely successful series of Bruckner recordings with his most popular and accessible symphony. They do not play the revised version performed almost exclusively today, but the original version from 1874. Glaring discontinuities, abrupt general pauses, the "organlike" sonorities in Bruckner's orchestral style – all these characteristic features of the work stand out much more clearly in this original version.

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors:


Add to your wish list | library


2 of 2 recommend this, would you recommend it?  yes | no