Mendelssohn: Herr Gott, dich loben wir - Bernius

Mendelssohn: Herr Gott, dich loben wir - Bernius

Carus  83.217

Stereo/Multichannel Hybrid

Classical - Vocal

Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy: Herr Gott, dich loben wir

Kammerchor Stuttgart
Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen
Frieder Bernius (conductor)

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors using the links provided below.
As an Amazon Associate earns from qualifying purchases.

Add to your wish list | library


5 of 5 recommend this, would you recommend it?  yes | no

Reviews (1)

Review by John Broggio - January 27, 2009

This, the penultimate release of Carus' superlative cycle of Mendelssohn's church music, contains much that is on the miniature scale but is nonetheless given the treatment of the much larger works of previous releases.

The two largest works on this disc are placed first: "95th Psalm: Kommst, lasst uns anbeten" and "Ach Gott, vom Himmel sieh darein" and the solo parts are well sung on the whole by Andrea L. Brown, Werner Güra and Michael Volle - it is disappointing to relate that Monica Groop now has quite a fruity tone that some may find a little off-putting. In these works and the remainder, the Kammerchor Stuttgart sing with excellent repose and delightful tone and, where needed, are accompanied with style and finesse by the Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen (as one has come to expect). Bernius is also very sure with his tempo choices and also the phrasing - always with an eye on the longer line, the details are naturally allowed to rise out of the texture.

The sound is well up to Carus' normal high standards and for the most part is a standard presentation. The one deviation in multi-channel is in the hymn "Hark! The Herald angels sing" where the choir take up position as a congregation - how I wish that most congregations were only half as good as them!

For musical reasons alone, this disc is for completists only but those who want to complete the set will find plenty to delight the ears.

Copyright © 2009 John Broggio and


Sonics (Multichannel):

stars stars