Dutch Cello Sonatas, Vol 3 - Hochscheid, van Ruth

Dutch Cello Sonatas, Vol 3 - Hochscheid, van Ruth

Audiomax  903 1655-6

Stereo/Multichannel Hybrid

Classical - Chamber

Matthijs Vermeulen, Jan Ingenhove

Doris Hochscheid (cello)
Frans van Ruth (piano)

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors using the links provided below.
As an Amazon Associate earns from qualifying purchases.


Add to your wish list | library


2 of 3 recommend this, would you recommend it?  yes | no

Reviews (1)

Review by Mark Novak - October 24, 2011

This review will be brief. The Dutch cello sonatas presented here (two each by Vermeulen and Ingenhoven) are highly chromatic verging on atonal. I simply don't find any beauty here - but that's just me. The music is dour, meandering and not especially dynamic. The performances seem to be very good - no quibble there. The sound is also quite excellent and consistent with the prior releases in this series. If you like this style of music, this will be right up your alley. It's unlikely I'll ever listen to it again (thrice is plenty for me).

Copyright © 2011 Mark Novak and


Sonics (Stereo):

stars stars