Nielsen: The Masterworks, Vol. 1 - Orchestral Music

Nielsen: The Masterworks, Vol. 1 - Orchestral Music

Dacapo Records  8.206002 (6 discs)

Stereo/Multichannel Hybrid

Classical - Orchestral

Carl Nielsen: Symphony No. 3 FS 60 Op. 27 "Sinfonia espansiva", Symphony No. 2, FS 29 Op. 16 "The Four Temperaments", Symphony No. 4 FS 76 Op. 29 "The Inextinguishable", Symphony No. 5 FS 97 Op. 50, Symphony No. 1 FS 16 Op. 7, Symphony No. 6 "Sinfonia semplice" FS 116, Maskarade (Overture, Cockerel's Dance), Sir Oluf He Rides (Prelude), Snefrid, Saul and David (Prelude to Act II), Rhapsody Overture: An imaginary journey to the Faroe Islands, Willemoes (Prelude to Act III), Pan and Syrinx, Cupid and the Poet Op. 54 (Overture), Ouverture Helios Op. 17

Danish National Symphony Orchestra
Thomas Dausgaard
Michael Schønwandt (Schonwandt)

Carl Nielsen’s symphonies, concertos and other orchestral works are Scandinavia’s most powerful music. “Music is life, and like it inextinguishable,” said Nielsen - himself born and raised in the Danish countryside as the son of poor folk musician, but later recognized as one of the 20th century’s greatest symphonists. This unique collection consists of prizewinning recordings by the Danish National Symphony Orchestra, which has preserved the authentic playing style since Carl Nielsen’s time.

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors using the paid links below.
As an Amazon Associate earns from qualifying purchases.

Add to your wish list | library


1 of 1 recommend this, would you recommend it?  yes | no