endBeginning - New York Polyphony

endBeginning - New York Polyphony


Stereo/Multichannel Hybrid

Classical - Vocal

Antoine Brumel: Missa pro defunctis, Libera me, Domine (plainsong), Thomas Crecquillon: Lamentationes Jeremiæ, Jacobus Clemens non Papa: Tristitia obsedit me – Infelix ego, Josquin Desprez (attrib.): Absalon fili mi, In paradisum (plainsong), Jackson Hill: Ma fin est mon commencement

New York Polyphony

New York Polyphony has assembled a programme of sacred vocal music composed largely by Franco-Flemish composers active in the first half of the 16th century, exploring from a number of perspectives the themes of grief, loss and mortality.

This music was produced during a volatile period in European history, a time punctuated by religious persecution, destructive war-fare, and repeated outbreaks of plague and famine. Death was an ever-present and inescapable companion even for the most privileged members of society.

Music played a vital role in helping people cope with the feelings of sadness, loss and anger over death, whether through the raw expression of personal grief in a devotional lament, or the more reserved expression of collective grief found in music intended to accompany a formal liturgical ceremony.

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors:


Add to your wish list | library


3 of 3 recommend this, would you recommend it?  yes | no