Norah Jones: The Fall

Norah Jones: The Fall

Analogue Productions  CAPP 045 SA

Stereo Hybrid


"The Fall"

Norah Jones

Mastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio from the original source recordings!

Part of Analogue Productions’ reissue of the Norah Jones’ solo catalog, featuring the individual albums Come Away With Me, Feels Like Home, Not Too Late, The Fall and Little Broken Hearts. Each album is featured in exclusive LP and SACD box sets that include Norah’s Covers album!

Norah has taken a new direction on The Fall, experimenting with different sounds and a new set of collaborators, including Jacquire King, a noted producer and engineer who has worked with Kings of Leon, Tom Waits and Modest Mouse. Richly detailed and vocally lush on 200-gram, super-silent vinyl from Analogue Productions, The Fall, Jones’ fourth album, may surprise some of Jones’ die-hard fans, Billboard magazine notes. During the 13-song set, Jones ditches the gentle piano playing of her previous work and tears into fresh, beat-savvy arrangements, playing plenty of electric guitar and exploring the piercing quality of Wurlitzer electric piano. Jones’ smoky voice and soulful veneer highlight the opening track and first single, "Chasing Pirates."

Jones displays a slinky kind of ambience on "Light As a Feather (co-written with Ryan Adams). The social commentary "It’s Gonna Be" offers a garage-rock attitude, and "You’ve Ruined Me" has a rich Americana flavor. But Jones is still a little bit country ("Tell Yer Mama") and a little bit rock’n’roll ("Stuck"). Overall, writes reviewer Gary Graff, Jones straddles those lines in an entirely different manner than she ever has before.

For The Fall, Jones enlisted several songwriting collaborators, including Ryan Adams and Okkervil River’s Will Sheff, as well as her frequent partners Jesse Harris and Richard Julian. Musicians include drummers Joey Waronker (Beck, R.E.M.) and James Gadson (Bill Withers), keyboardist James Poyser (Erykah Badu, Al Green) and guitarists Marc Ribot (Tom Waits, Elvis Costello) and Smokey Hormel (Johnny Cash, Joe Strummer).

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors using the paid links below.
As an Amazon Associate earns from qualifying purchases.


Add to your wish list | library


3 of 3 recommend this, would you recommend it?  yes | no

1. Chasing pirates
2. Even though
3. Light as a feather
4. Young blood
5. I wouldn't need you
6. Waiting
7. Its gonna be
8. You've ruined me
9. Back to manhattan
10. Stuck
11. December
12. Tell her Mama
13. Man of the hour
Comments (1)

Comment by Downunderman - March 28, 2024 (1 of 1)

A surprisingly lovely album.

Originally released on CD in 2009 sporting an average DR of 9 and released on SACD in 2012 with an improved DR of 12.

Kevin Gray has done a very good job with the SACD mastering. Smooth and natural sounding to a fault and not at all pumped up in any respect.

If you liked this album but found the sonics of the CD a little difficult to listen too, you will be pleasantly surprised with the improved sound quality here.