America: America

America: America

Audio Fidelity  AFZ 167

Stereo Hybrid



Released in 1971, America is the self-titled debut album from one of the most original and influential pop groups of the '70s. The album went to # 1 on the Billboard album chart and stayed there for 5 weeks. It produced two hit singles, "A Horse With No Name" spent three weeks at # 1 on the Billboard singles chart in 1972 and "I Need You" hit # 9. America highlights the exquisite harmonies and subtle acoustic shadings that would become an America trademark. Dewey Bunnell, Gary Beckley and Dan Peek - each an accomplished vocalist and guitar player - first met in England in 1967 while stationed with their parents at a U.S. Air Force base. They soon began seriously writing and performing together, eventually taking the name of a homeland they hardly knew. America quickly gained a reputation for incisive, evocative songwriting and appealing performances built around their distinctive three-part harmonies.

The album is produced by Ian Samwell with Jeff Dexter and America, (and engineered by Ken Scott).

America, the album, features twelve original songs including the two hits while several other tracks received FM radio airplay, including "Sandman" and "Three Roses."

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors:

Add to your wish list | library


24 of 24 recommend this, would you recommend it?  yes | no

1. Riverside
2. Sandman
3. Three Rivers
4. Children
5. A Horse with No Name
6. Harp
7. I Need You
8. Rainy Day
9. Never Found the Time
10. Clarice
11. Donkey Jaw
12. Pigeon Song